President Rodrigo Duterte is set to announce the COVID-19 quarantine protocols beginning April 5 later in the day, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said Saturday.

In a text message, Roque told GMA News Online that the Inter-Agency Task Force on COVID-19 has an “ongoing” meeting on what appropriate quarantine classification will be imposed starting Monday in the NCR Plus area.

On April 4, Sunday, the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) — the strictest COVID-19 quarantine classification — in the  National Capital Region and its neighboring provinces of Rizal, Laguna, Cavite, and Bulacan will expire.

Meanwhile, the provinces of Quirino and Isabela were placed under modified ECQ from April 1 to 15, and April 1 to 30, respectively. 

Meanwhile, the Cordillera Administrative Region, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Tacloban City, Iligan City, Davao City, and Lanao del Sur will be under general community quarantine from April 1 to 30.

The rest of the country is under MGCQ until the end of the month.

Asked when will the President announce the new quarantine protocols, upon the expiration of ECQ in the NCR Plus area, Roque said, “Today.”

Earlier, the OCTA Research team recommended a one-week extension of the ECQ imposed in the NCR Plus bubble amid the continuing rise in the number of COVID-19 cases. 

On Friday, the Philippines tallied 15,310 new COVID-19 infections, pushing the total to 771,497, of which 153,809 are active cases. 

Recoveries were at 604,368, and deaths climbed to 13,320. —LBG, GMA News